A story of… APAM BALIK   Leave a comment

Apam balik. Two words originated in Malay roots. That’s my favourite snack, and I like to have it every day. It just like a pancake, with peanuts, sugar and sometimes Planta on it. I love apam balik so much.

There are a lot of stories about apam balik I have. Since 1986, apam balik made famous in Miri. There was a restaurant in Miri selling apam balik. It was famous that time until rapid urbanisation came to Miri. Finally, the restaurant is closed, and the owner moved to a stall near Tamu Muhibbah, where Mirians buy their daily necessities. Years passed. I don’t know where is the family right now.

But still, I can taste apam balik until now.

Back to a few days before I went back from Labuan, I met a man selling apam balik in the town. his apam balik is not that ordinary, but it is 18 inch in diameter!

An apam balik seller (or a couple of sellers). RM4 for each 18-inch apam balik... too cheap to be shared by 6 person.

He is an apam balik seller which sells apam balik for more than 20 years. We talked a lot then. He said that there was a circle of friends set up a small business, selling apam balik. After 6 years, the circle breaks , and then each of them tried to set up individually. Only one of them succeed- him.

His apam balik is quite different than the others. 18-inch apam balik with fistful of peanuts and sugar, and some Planta, and a little bit of banana flavour. I bought one, I brought it to the surau, and guess what? 6 persons, including me, were full.

Now, I am working. almost every day, I went to a stall near Boulevard, buying apam balik. I share the taste to everyone, because for me, the earth is just one.

 

Posted June 2, 2011 by princerighty1 in FRIENDS

Leave a Reply

